School of Computer Science

Weekly Newsletter

 1 July 2013


News from HoS

This Week

School Events

External Events

Funding Opps

Prize & Award Opps

Research Awards

Staff News




News Submissions

Newsletter Archive

School Strategy

School Intranet

School Seminars

ESNW Seminars

NaCTeM Seminars


News from the Head of School

Success at Automated Theorem Proving Competition (CASC-24 2013)

Andrei Voronkov and Konstantin Korovin have won major divisions in the annual World Championship for Theorem Proving (CASC) which was held at the 24th International Conference on Automated Deduction (CADE-24), Lake Placid, USA.


Andrei’s Vampire won the main division: general first-order (FOF), which it has been winning for the last 14 years.


Konstantin’s iProver won the effectively propositional (EPR) and first-order satisfiability (FNT) divisions.  The FNT division is the second most important division at CASC and has been dominated by a Swedish system Paradox for the last 10 years. This is the first time Paradox's dominance has been successfully challenged.

Google film – over 50,000 hits                                                                                      

Google’s film about the Baby has been viewed over 50,000 times!



Winners of the EPS "Best in eLearning" competition 2012-13

The EPS eLearning Steering Group is pleased to announce the results of the first EPS “Best in eLearning” competition 2012-13.


This year, there were 242 student nominations for 167 courses covering approximately 150 tutors. It was a difficult and lengthy process selecting those courses that stood out from the many examples of good practice, and only those that had something special made the final list of 10 school winners.


The final judging to select an overall/Faculty winner took place on 18th July, and the results of the competition are below. If you click on the links you can watch a screen cast showing the features of the unit and see the student comments about why they nominated the course unit.


Faculty of EPS Best in eLearning 2013 (Overall Winner)

EEEN10035 Java Programming : Geoff Rubner (School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering).


Geoff Rubner will receive his award at the Faculty Teaching Learning Committee meeting in July 2013.


Highly Commended School Winners

MATH10141 Probability 1 : John Moriarty  (School of Mathematics)

CHEM20412 Structure and Reactivity of Organic Molecules : Tim Wallace (School of Chemistry)


Most Innovative Use of eLearning

EART30551 Meteorology : David Schultz (School of Earth Atmospheric & Environmental Sciences)


Commended School Winners (in alphabetical order)

CHEN30012 Design Project: Colin Webb (School of CEAS)

COMP27112 Computer Graphics and Image Processing : Toby Howard and Tim Morris (School of Computer Science)

FOUN10001 Chemistry 1 : Jonathan Agger (Foundation Studies/School of Chemistry)

MACE30462 Operations Management : Paul Chan (School of MACE)

MATS30112 Natural Materials and Biological Matrices : Catherine Merry (School of Materials)

PHYS40391&64591 Radio Astronomy : Peter Wilkinson (School of Physics & Astronomy)


If you would like to talk with the eLearning team about how you could enhance your course, please contact

External examiners – Blackpool and the Fylde college                                        

The Computing Department of Blackpool & the Fylde College are currently looking to appoint two external examiners at the start of the next academic year for degrees validated through Lancaster University. The previous external examiners three-year tenure has now ended and we are looking for replacement for the following courses:

FdSc & BSc Interactive Media Development

This programme leads students into careers within the digital media industry, with threads running through the programme centred around Web Design & Development (from static websites through to dynamic sites and content management systems) but also branches into 2D Graphics, Human Computer Interaction and Digital Media Marketing.

FdSc Software Engineering & BSc Interactive Design

A programme which deals with preparing students for programming-related jobs within the games industry and leading software houses. The threads of this course revolve around Programming in C++ and C# along with Database Concepts and Modifying Existing Game Engines.

Should any of your staff be willing and able to assist us in any way, or if you know of any suitable candidates from other institutions could you please contact Scott Smith.


Research to industry electronics conference: R2i2                                 3 Jul 13

·         11am, Friday 3 Jul 2013, Sir Denis Rooke, Holywell, Loughborough University


The R2i2 Electronics Conference provides the opportunity for the electronics manufacturing industry, research & development companies and institutional research centres to meet, review and discuss the best of the UK’s academic electronic research projects. R2i2 is hosted by IMAPS-UK & the IeMRC in partnership with IEEE CPMT (UK & RI), ESP-KTN & NMI. You must register to attend (£25).

BMVA/UoM Computer Vision Summer School 2013                        8-12 July 13

Enrolment is now open for the BMVA/University of Manchester Computer Vision Summer School for research students.

Please note that research students from CS would normally be expected to pay the full non-residential fee of £225. However, since the list of speakers is not yet totally finished, and we will probably need some volunteers to help out during the school itself, this payment may be negotiable!


Any further queries/offers of support, please contact Carole Twining.


Funding Opportunities

Research Support Office

Please contact us through

There is information about support for grant writing and submission at


Research Professional is a useful search engine for finding other funding opportunities.


Featured Research Outcomes


Maria Copeland, Rafael S Gonçalves, Bijan Parsia, Uli Sattler, and Robert Stevens. Finding fault: Detecting issues in a versioned ontology. In Matthew Horridge, Bijan Parsia, Patrick Lambrix and Guilin Qi, editors, Proceedings of the Second International Workshop on Debugging Ontologies and Ontology Mappings (WoDOOM 2013), 2013. Best paper winner.


Ming-Jie Zhao, Narayanan Edakunni, Adam Pocock and Gavin Brown. Beyond Fano's inequality: bounds on the optimal F-score, balanced error rate, and cost-sensitive risk and their implications. Journal of Machine Learning Research. Volume 14, pages 1033--1090, (2013)


Have we missed something? If you have some award news that you would like us to know about please contact Sarah Chatwin.